Rugby World Cup 2023, South Africa still champion: New Zealand defeated 12-11

New Zealand-South Africa 11-12

  • New Zeland: 15. B. Barrett, 14. Jordan (71′ Lienert-Brown), 13. Ioane, 12. J. Barrett, 11. Telea, 10. Mo’unga (75′ McKenzie), 9. A. Smith (66′ Christie), 8. Savea, 7. Cane (C), 6. Frizell (55′ Whitelock), 5. S. Barrett, 4. Retallick (71′ Papali’i), 3. Lomax (66′ Laulala), 2. Taylor (66′ Taukei’aho), 1. de Groot (66′ Williams)
  • South Africa: 15. Willemse (66′ le Roux), 14. Arendse, 13. Riel, 12. de Allende, 11. Kolbe, 10. Pollard, 9. de Klerk, 8. Vermeulen (58′ K. Smith), 7. du Toit, 6. Kolisi (C) (73′ Wiese), 5. Mostert (52′ Snyman), 4. Etzebeth (58′ Kleyn), 3. Malherbe (66′ Nyakane), 2. Mbonambi (4′ Fourie) , 1. Kisthoff (52′ Nche)

Markers: 3′ Pollard (S, cp), 13′ Pollard (S, cp), 17′ Mo’unga (N, cp), 19′ Pollard (S, cp), 34′ Pollard (S, cp), 58′ B. Barrett (N, m)

Warnings: 3′ Frizell (N), 46′ College (S)

Expulsions: 34′ Cane (N)

As in Johannesburg in 1995, history repeats itself: South Africa beat New Zealand in the final and won the fourth World Cup in its history. At the Stade de France it ends 12-11: almost everything happens in the first half with Handre Pollard’s four free kicks. The All Blacks, outnumbered for 50 minutes after the red card to captain Sam Cane, played an extraordinary match, even coming close to taking the lead 6 minutes from time with Jordie Barrett’s missed free kick. This is the second consecutive World Cup for the Springboks: only New Zealand had succeeded in 2007 and 2011″,”postId”:”73e69885-cb96-481e-81f1-1e1de93996ef”},{“timestamp”:”2023-10 -28T21:02:13.094Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T23:02:13+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

80′ – All in one scrum: we are at 79’37”, South Africa will enter the ball

“,”postId”:”f755c24e-d878-4abf-aaad-a696345dc8c5″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:59:50.558Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:59:50+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

79′ – Time is running out, New Zealand has to move up the field: even one drop would be enough to win the match

“,”postId”:”9266ddb6-8a90-44a4-85df-848b3cca21bd”},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:57:59.534Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:57:59+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

77′ – The Springboks try to keep the ball in these final minutes. There is, however, a forward pass in the All Blacks’ 22: scrum with New Zealand entering

“,”postId”:”1391cfae-f2ab-4de7-b280-80f0f6932ab9″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:54:05.639Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:54:05+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”title”:”74′ – Jordie Barrett sbaglia la punizione!”,”content”:”

New Zealand fail to take the lead! Difficult free kick for Jordie Barrett who misses the posts.

“,”postId”:”ee965e5a-a33f-40b2-b0db-87761f49841b”},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:52:29.398Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:52:29+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”title”:”73′ – Giallo per Kolbe: Springboks in 14″,”content”:”

New twist! There is a voluntary forward from Kolbe, after the TMO review he receives a yellow card: the match will end 14 vs 14, but in the meantime there is a punishment for New Zealand

“,”postId”:”d7b084d2-6e73-45cb-8998-9c42dfe2f489″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:49:35.548Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:49:35+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

72′ – Kolbe’s drop attempt fails. New Zealand moves away: we start again with a touch at mid-field

“,”postId”:”4815463e-6e88-42ce-8c5f-3baa5954f8f2″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:46:11.805Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:46:11+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

69′ – Tiredness is being felt among the players on the pitch with little action in these minutes. New Zealand, meanwhile, made four changes with the entry of Taukei’aho, Williams, Laulala and Christie

“,”postId”:”7357e93e-9cf7-43fc-a5c0-7cf6a2974f18″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:38:07.860Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:38:07+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

65′ – Lots of confusion at this stage: several errors when switching from one side to the other

“,”postId”:”ad2d6839-3f0a-4ae3-9034-4add7d1e5c85″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:34:45.764Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:34:45+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

59′ – Two more changes for South Africa: Kleyn and Kwagga Smith in, Etzebeth and Vermeulen out. Still no changes, however, made by Ian Foster

“,”postId”:”9aad7208-1bfc-4328-999e-ec17ab949d60″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:32:20.740Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:32:20+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”title”:”58′ – Meta di Beauden Barrett: Nuova Zelanda-Sudafrica 11-12″,”content”:”

This time everything is fine! From a touch in the South African 5 metres, the All Blacks’ insistent action began and they scored the goal thanks to Beauden Barrett following a pass from Tele’a. Mo’unga doesn’t convert: New Zealand is -1

“,”postId”:”76665420-2506-49b7-8406-6b60c0baf817″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:29:01.380Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:29:01+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

56′ – Another All Blacks forward, this time a few meters from the try line. Meanwhile, Kolisi is back on the field: South Africa are back in 15 men

“,”postId”:”75241bdd-aea1-4629-9e7d-14e38e8ce9e7″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:27:50.243Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:27:50+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”title”:”Meta cancellata! Si torna 6-12″,”content”:”

The TMO cancels the goal! After the touchdown there was a forward collection by Savea. We start again, however, with a free kick for the All Blacks

“,”postId”:”70416633-7e3b-4508-b1f5-21ad5c8b66fd”},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:25:46.004Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:25:46+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”title”:”54′ – Meta di Smith: Nuova Zelanda-Sudafrica 11-12″,”content”:”

Aaron Smith hits the shot! With equal numbers and despite the pressure from South Africa, the All Blacks reached the goal thanks to the extraordinary work of Mo’unga who created superiority over Smith. For the Springboks it is the first try conceded in four world finals

“,”postId”:”a2fb8e43-4e5c-40a8-a64c-1f5f8fa05553″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:21:09.612Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:21:09+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

52′ – Meanwhile Kolisi is saved: the yellow does not turn into red, he will be able to return to the field in a few minutes

“,”postId”:”e291aad4-8238-43e4-b922-5e8ccebe538b”},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:20:49.315Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:20:49+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

52′ – Two changes for South Africa: Mostert and Kitshoff out, Nche and Snyman in

“,”postId”:”83ab55cd-b912-4af9-8e53-beb3d83c2758″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:15:27.715Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:15:27+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”title”:”46′ – Giallo per Kolisi: Springboks in 14″,”content”:”

Another yellow card (with a red card suggested) issued by the referee after a review at the TMO. This time it’s against Siya Kolisi after a high tackle (head-to-head) on Savea. We’ll see if this too turns into red, in the meantime the numerical parity has been re-established: 14 against 14

“,”postId”:”d174586a-6a33-457a-a98f-6a3cb3d7b4b3″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:12:38.956Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:12:38+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

45′ – South Africa again! Pass with the foot in depth for Willemse to reward the flash of Arendse who, however, fails to push over the goal line

“,”postId”:”1977e6c0-b51c-47c5-9822-d35d944df7e9″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:09:40.257Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:09:40+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

42′ – South Africa starts strong and comes close to scoring, but there is a ball held high. The All Blacks ward off the danger

“,”postId”:”93c849a6-3349-4a52-8195-86696d99eaa3″},{“timestamp”:”2023-10-28T20:07:38.526Z”,”timestampUtcIt”:”2023-10-28T22:07:38+0200″,”altBackground”:false,”content”:”

LET’S START ONCE AGAIN! First ball of the second half played by South Africa

“,”postId”:”5fd33ee3-64b1-4f03-a3b2-0e234f998735″}]}”
query='{“live”:true,”configurationName”:”LIVEBLOG_CONTAINER_WIDGET”,”liveblogId”:”e60c5076-d585-4290-8e90-f5f85947ba40″,”tenant”:”sport”,”page”:1,”limit”:20}’
>

SOUTH AFRICA IS WORLD CHAMPIONS!

As in Johannesburg in 1995, history repeats itself: South Africa beat New Zealand in the final and won the fourth World Cup in its history. At the Stade de France it ends 12-11: almost everything happens in the first half with Handre Pollard’s four free kicks. The All Blacks, outnumbered for 50 minutes after the red card to captain Sam Cane, played an extraordinary match, even coming close to taking the lead 6 minutes from time with Jordie Barrett’s missed free kick. For the Springboks it is the second consecutive World Cup: only New Zealand had succeeded in 2007 and 2011

80′ – All in one scrum: we are at 79’37”, South Africa will enter the ball

79′ – Time is running out, New Zealand has to move up the field: even one drop would be enough to win the match

77′ – The Springboks try to keep the ball in these final minutes. There is, however, a forward pass in the All Blacks’ 22: scrum with New Zealand entering

74′ – Jordie Barrett misses the free kick!

New Zealand fail to take the lead! Difficult free kick for Jordie Barrett who misses the posts.

73′ – Giallo per Kolbe: Springboks in 14

New twist! There is a voluntary forward from Kolbe, after the TMO review he receives a yellow card: the match will end 14 vs 14, but in the meantime there is a punishment for New Zealand

72′ – Kolbe’s drop attempt fails. New Zealand moves away: we start again with a touch at mid-field

69′ – Tiredness is being felt among the players on the pitch with little action in these minutes. New Zealand, meanwhile, made four changes with the entry of Taukei’aho, Williams, Laulala and Christie

65′ – Lots of confusion at this stage: several errors when switching from one side to the other

59′ – Two more changes for South Africa: Kleyn and Kwagga Smith in, Etzebeth and Vermeulen out. Still no changes, however, made by Ian Foster

58′ – Beauden Barrett’s try: New Zealand-South Africa 11-12

This time everything is fine! From a touch in the South African 5 metres, the All Blacks’ insistent action began and they scored the goal thanks to Beauden Barrett following a pass from Tele’a. Mo’unga doesn’t convert: New Zealand is -1

56′ – Another All Blacks forward, this time a few meters from the try line. Meanwhile, Kolisi is back on the field: South Africa are back in 15 men

Meta cancelled! We return 6-12

The TMO cancels the goal! After the touchdown there was a forward collection by Savea. We start again, however, with a free kick for the All Blacks

54′ – Smith’s try: New Zealand-South Africa 11-12

Aaron Smith hits the shot! With equal numbers and despite the pressure from South Africa, the All Blacks reached the goal thanks to the extraordinary work of Mo’unga who created superiority over Smith. For the Springboks it is the first try conceded in four world finals

52′ – Meanwhile Kolisi is saved: the yellow does not turn into red, he will be able to return to the pitch in a few minutes

52′ – Two changes for South Africa: Mostert and Kitshoff out, Nche and Snyman in

46′ – Giallo for Colisi: Springboks in the 14th

Another yellow card (with a red card suggested) issued by the referee after a review at the TMO. This time it’s against Siya Kolisi after a high tackle (head-to-head) on Savea. We’ll see if this too turns into red, in the meantime the numerical parity has been re-established: 14 against 14

45′ – South Africa again! Pass with the foot in depth for Willemse to reward the flash of Arendse who, however, fails to push over the goal line

42′ – South Africa starts strong and comes close to scoring, but there is a ball held high. The All Blacks ward off the danger

LET’S START ONCE AGAIN! First ball of the second half played by South Africa

The post first appeared on sport.sky.it

Leave a comment