Messi wins the World Player of the Year award, and the treble favors Guardiola Sports news


Lionel Messi, the captain of Argentina who won the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar, won the Best Player award during the “The Best” awards ceremony, presented by the International Federation (FIFA) for the year 2023, while the Spanish Pep Guardiola, the English coach of Manchester City, won the Best Coach award.

During the annual ceremony held in London, Messi surpassed Norwegian Erling Haaland and Frenchman Kylian Mbappe.

Messi won the award in 2022 after leading his country to glory in the World Cup and winning the French League title with Paris Saint-Germain, along with his colleague Mbappe, after this success, before moving to the American NBA with Inter Miami.

The 36-year-old was chosen based on votes from national team coaches, captains, journalists and fans.

Messi led Inter Miami to win the first title in its history when it was crowned champion of the American-Mexican League Cup.

Former French star Thierry Henry holds the award won by Messi (French)

The treble favors Guardiola

Guardiola outperformed Inter Milan coach Simone Inzaghi and former Napoli coach Luciano Spalletti. Spalletti succeeded in leading Napoli to win the Italian First Division for the first time in 33 years.

With City, Guardiola won the English Premier League, Cup and Champions League treble, which came at the expense of Inter. Guardiola said in response to a question about his feeling of the difference between winning awards with Barcelona and City: “Barcelona is the heart club for me.”

He added, “Everything I won came thanks to Barcelona. Barcelona is part of my life, but Manchester City carries a special flavour. The situation has changed a lot at the club compared to 20 years ago. Winning the treble with Manchester City is wonderful.”

The former Bayern Munich coach continued: “Spending time with the players is the biggest reward I get as a coach.”

The best goalkeeper and goalkeeper

The Brazilian Ederson, the English Manchester City player, won the award for the best goalkeeper in the world, after beating his competitors, the Belgian Thibaut Courtois, the Real Madrid goalkeeper, and the Moroccan Yassine Bounou, the current Saudi Al Hilal and former Spanish Seville goalkeeper.

Ederson said after receiving the award, “I thank my family and friends, as well as my teammates who worked faithfully every day and also contributed to me receiving the Best in the World award.”

For her part, English player Mary Earps, Manchester United women’s player, was chosen as best goalkeeper.

The ideal lineup for the best 11 players

The squad included 6 players from the English Manchester City team, which won the league, cup and Champions League treble.

The complete lineup was as follows:

  • Goalkeeping: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid).
  • Defense line: John Stones, Kyle Walker, Ruben Diaz (Manchester City).
  • Midline: Bernardo Silva and Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid).
  • Offensive line: Erling Haaland (Manchester City), Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Inter Miami), Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid).

Puskas Award for best goal

Brazilian Guillerme Madruga, player of Botafogo, won the Puskas Award for the best goal in the world.

Best trainer

Sarina Fichman, coach of the England women’s national team, won the Best Coach award. Fichmann led England to reach the final of a major tournament again before losing the Women’s World Cup final to Spain.

Best player

English Lucy Bronze was crowned at the FIFA World Player of the Year Awards.

The post first appeared on

Leave a comment