Haaland wins prizes at Ballon d’Or gala – Voetbal International thanks to rain of goals

In the awards gala that is the Ballon d’Or celebration, Erling Haaland won the Gerd Müller Trophy on Monday evening. This is the trophy for the most productive player in the past season.

© Pro Shots

In his first season at Manchester City, Haaland scored a staggering 52 goals in 53 matches. In the Premier League alone, the 23-year-old Norwegian scored 36 times, a record.

Haaland scored four goals in as many appearances for the Norwegian national team. The Scandinavians missed the World Cup in Qatar.

The previous two editions of this election were won by Robert Lewandowski. According to evil tongues, the organization created this trophy two years ago to ease the Pole’s pain. Lewandowski was then considered the favorite for the Golden Ball, but was trumped by Messi.

That history repeated itself in a sense, because on Monday the main prize also went to the Argentinian dribbler.

Also look at:

It appears that you have disabled one or more social media scripts on VI.nl. That is why no social posts or live blogs are loaded.

Change your settings here.

All winners during the Golden Ball gala:

Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi (Arg)
Women’s Golden Ball: Aitana Bonmatí (Spa)
Kopa Trophy: Jude Bellingham (Eng)
Yashin Trophy: Emiliano Martínez (Arg)
Socrates Trophy: Vinícius Júnior (Bra)
Müller Trophy: Erling Haaland (Noo)
Team of the Year (women): Barcelona
Team of the Year (men): Manchester City

Watch all our videos here

Join the conversation

To participate, you must be logged in with your VI account.

Comments are currently loading.

The post first appeared on www.vi.nl

Leave a comment